Skip navigation

The first official Awesomium SDK (v0.5) is out now for MSVC8! You can download it here.

The main header is “WebCore.h”, so include that to access the entirety of the API. Almost everything is documented using standard Javadoc commenting and so it should be pretty easy to understand (I’ll probably generate online docs later using Doxygen). If you need any tips on usage or an idea of how to embed Awesomium within your application, take a look at the ‘app’ project in the SVN source.

Good luck and have fun!

P.S., remember to copy over the ICU DLL (it’s in bin/common) into your executable’s directory as well. If you don’t, everything will probably still run however various operations (mostly text-input and unicode-related stuff) will most definitely fail, causing undefined behavior.

ย 

P.P.S., I’ve started a discussion group to discuss development/support of Awesomium, check it out here!

5 Comments

  1. Yay!

  2. You rocks! XD

    I’m building a test in my app right now. ๐Ÿ˜€

    May a suggest two little details ? :
    – I did’nt found any way to get the version number of the lib in the source files;
    – Could you add a prefix to the header files please (for helping fighting lib header hell) ?

    Only details you can certainly ignore until the next major release ๐Ÿ™‚

    If we find some problems, where do we have to report? On the Issues page of the google code page, or on the Navi forum?

    Can’t wait to finish my interface system to integrate Awesomnium XD XD

  3. Oups i forgot that’s vc8 binaries v__v;

    I’m currently using vc9 for my project so i’ll have to wait or find time to build chronium with vc9 i guess…

    Anyway I read a bit of the WebCore and WebView interfaces and it’s pretty clear and clean! Good work!
    I can code the glue code to my app before getting the vc9 binaries as it seems really simple. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Is it possible to use binaries compiled in Visual Studio 2005 with an application compiled in Visual Studio 2008?

    For some reason I can’t find info about this using Google. Apparently I can’t think of the proper search keywords at the moment to give me results I need. Lots of stuff comes up about managed code interoperability, etc. between the two versions, but not unmanaged dlls. I know that some libraries have 2005, 2008, etc. versions so it makes me think no… but why the heck not? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Falagard, the same question occured this week end on the Ogre forum : http://www.ogre3d.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=44832&sid=5078290bb29905bc891482a1f857e0bd

    As you can see in the answers, I posted the question on http://www.stackoverflow.com and it seems that there is no official compatibility but it can work in some cases : http://stackoverflow.com/questions/171816/vc9-and-vc8-lib-compatibility


Leave a Reply

